NEED HELP PLANNING? CONTACT US GIFT AN EXPERIENCE TO YOUR LOVED ONES OUR #SUPPORTLOCAL MISSION

5H Round Ketam Island Kayaking (Age: 7+) | Unique Route!

5.0 hours
Join-in trip ·
Up to 30 persons
Min Age 7+
5H Round Ketam Island Kayaking (Age: 7+) | Unique Route!
5H Round Ketam Island Kayaking (Age: 7+) | Unique Route!

5H Round Ketam Island Kayaking (Age: 7+) | Unique Route!

5.0 hours
Join-in trip ·
Up to 30 persons
Min Age 7+

Request to Book

Select Number of Persons
Adult
Child Age 0 - 12
Select Date & Time

From S$ 83.89 / person S$ 104.86
Your request will be confirmed within 24h. Your card will be charged on request confirmation.

Highlights

Highlights

  • See teeny Ketam Island - a hidden island by Ubin that few have heard of
  • The only kayak provider with a house on Ubin storing all kayaks, and as a meeting location to host customers, and even have a rinse-off facility.

Details

Details

In this 5H kayaking experience, you'll experience an open sea kayaking journey with an up-close view of the mangrove habitat. You'll also be rewarded with natural sightings of flora and fauna surrounding Pulau Ketam, an island just off the southwest of Pulau Ubin. This is a unique kayaking route!Starting from the southern end of Pulau Ubin, hugging the coast and travelling westward, heading to Ketam Island. As you come close to it, you will pass by the popular grey herons in their calm and resting state, and you'll experience the serenity of paddling at sea. Spot different mangroves and their characteristics. You might even spot the occasional water monitor lizards chilling out or otters swimming by.Meeting PointLocated at 34 Pulau Ubin, the meeting point is a short 1 min walk from the jetty. Upon arriving via the ferry, cross the boardwalk and take a left. Walk on until a house painted white on your right.About Pulau Ketam Ketam what? We lived in Singapore all our lives and never knew Ketam Island existed. It's just a nondescript narrow strip of land by Pulau Ubin, but it is rich in biodiversity and offers new ecological encounters in Singapore. Here if you're lucky you may see otters, monitor lizards, grey herons, as well as many other species of birds. Important NotesMinimum 2 adults for the programme to operate.The programme operates in both dry and wet weather.Children must be at least 7 years old to participate, and accompanied by an adult.Covered shoes are mandatory.Participants WILL get wetFor the safety of all participants, a mandatory floatation test will be conducted before kayaking.The operator stresses the importance of bringing and wearing the right gear for this activity. 

Min 2 persons requirement:
Please note that this experience require a minimum of 2 persons to proceed. You may book for fewer than 2 persons, but if there are fewer than 2 persons booked for the date, you may be asked to reschedule to another date.
Suitable For: Families with Kids, Couples
Tags: Kayaking / Canoeing

What's included

What's included

  • Equipment for kayaking
  • English-speaking Adventures Leader
  • Drinking-Water for the Refill
  • Accident insurance coverage during the programme
  • Facility for a simple rinse off after the programme
  • Lockers to store valuables
  • Ferry transfers between Changi Point Ferry Terminal and Pulau Ubin or vice versa.
  • Gratuities
  • Food and drinks (except the Refill of Drinking Water)
Show all inclusions & exclusions

Where You'll Meet

Where You'll Meet

Meet at House No.34, Pulau Ubin
Details

Availability

Availability

Available
Unavailable
Prices shown in SGD

What You'll Do

What You'll Do

Itinerary: Ketam Island
Ketam Island

Experience a full open sea kayaking and be rewarded with natural sightings unlike any other

  • Safety briefing
  • Experience an open sea kayaking journey with an up-close view of the mangrove habitat and be rewarded with natural sightings of flora and fauna surrounding Pulau Ketam, an island just off the southwest of Pulau Ubin.
This is a sample itinerary and may be weather-dependent.

Meet your host

Meet your host

Driven by a team of professionals who are fuelled with passion and big ideas, Asian Detours believes strongly in creating shared experiences through out-of-the-norm adventures. At Asian Detours, safety is of utmost importance in any activity. The team provides comprehensive safety management for all programs, which includes risk assessment, on-site management by our emergency first responders as well as activity-specific professional insurance. With more than 15 years of experience, Asian Detours bring the best equipment, effective instructors and well-designed program concepts.
4.8 (20 reviews)
16 years experience
Fluent English

What others are saying

What others are saying

4.8 | 20 reviews
Edna Chan
28 Nov 2022

Benet was a friendly guide. He was able to handle hiccups very well. He was adaptive to his participants' wants. Overall a good experience.

Parhana
14 Nov 2022
What is advertised in the experience is from 9am to 2pm and the instructions also stated to come 15 mins early; turns out we had to wait for the late comers and started the briefing 15 mins late instead. Tour guide while pleasant, did not share much unless asked during the trip. Rather reserved for a tour guide. However, I think the most disappointing is the trip ended around 12 noon instead of 2pm. Felt like was abit short changed for what I paid for? Also, the area around Ubin is so filled with trash??? Out of disgust of the world around us, we ended up spending the whole kayaking trip picking as much trash as we could from the ocean (not blaming seek sophie here on this). But maybe the tour should be marketed as such rather than a unique trip: Pay $150 with a friend to rent a double kayak for 2 hours to pick out trash from the ocean and make the world a better place.
Leong Jia Qi Grace
08 Nov 2022

Dear Grace,

Thanks for bringing this to our attention. It is regretful about the experience you had with the Round Ketam Kayaking program on 5th Nov 2022 (Sat). 

Our team started an inquiry to investigate the matter the moment we received your feedback. We have looked into an overall understanding of the matter; we have since spoken with the kayaking leader, checked through the tide schedule to ascertain the conditions for that day as well, etc.

Below are our observations from the inquiry :
1. We acknowledge an a "less than ideal" decision by our adventure leader to head back earlier, in order to catch the tide/current as she assessed some of the paxs were very tired and would be difficult to paddle back if they were going against the current. As such, the trip back was sooner than expected which was not as per our program norms or practices.
2. We share the same pre-programme deck with all participants. Though we always remind our clients to make it a point to arrive 15mins earlier so as to buffer late comers, if any.
3. Our Oceans are filled with trash. As "Green Stewards" we not only advocate responsibility to our environment and often work with organisations such as WWF, for beach clean ups activities in the mangroves. It is good that you witness the uncensored version of what goes on and glad you took effort in helping to remove some thrash from our oceans.

We appreciate you making us aware of your experience and our team has taken in this feedback and updated our workflow to ensure that this won’t happen again. 

We have reached out to you separately for the service recovery.

Asian Detours Team

Adventures by Asian Detours 09 Nov 2022
Indra Nienhaus
23 Oct 2022

Thank you so much for the kind review and we are glad that you have enjoyed the experience as much as we did too.

Adventures by Asian Detours 09 Nov 2022

Really enjoyed the challenge and the scenery. Safe and informative. Great guide. Thanks so much- husband enjoyed his birthday adventure

Clare Measures
19 May 2022

Thank you so much for the kind words and we are glad that you have enjoyed the experience as much as we did too.

Adventures by Asian Detours 09 Nov 2022

Benet was a friendly guide. He was able to handle hiccups very well. He was adaptive to his participants' wants. Overall a good experience.

Parhana
14 Nov 2022
What is advertised in the experience is from 9am to 2pm and the instructions also stated to come 15 mins early; turns out we had to wait for the late comers and started the briefing 15 mins late instead. Tour guide while pleasant, did not share much unless asked during the trip. Rather reserved for a tour guide. However, I think the most disappointing is the trip ended around 12 noon instead of 2pm. Felt like was abit short changed for what I paid for? Also, the area around Ubin is so filled with trash??? Out of disgust of the world around us, we ended up spending the whole kayaking trip picking as much trash as we could from the ocean (not blaming seek sophie here on this). But maybe the tour should be marketed as such rather than a unique trip: Pay $150 with a friend to rent a double kayak for 2 hours to pick out trash from the ocean and make the world a better place.
Leong Jia Qi Grace
08 Nov 2022

Dear Grace,

Thanks for bringing this to our attention. It is regretful about the experience you had with the Round Ketam Kayaking program on 5th Nov 2022 (Sat). 

Our team started an inquiry to investigate the matter the moment we received your feedback. We have looked into an overall understanding of the matter; we have since spoken with the kayaking leader, checked through the tide schedule to ascertain the conditions for that day as well, etc.

Below are our observations from the inquiry :
1. We acknowledge an a "less than ideal" decision by our adventure leader to head back earlier, in order to catch the tide/current as she assessed some of the paxs were very tired and would be difficult to paddle back if they were going against the current. As such, the trip back was sooner than expected which was not as per our program norms or practices.
2. We share the same pre-programme deck with all participants. Though we always remind our clients to make it a point to arrive 15mins earlier so as to buffer late comers, if any.
3. Our Oceans are filled with trash. As "Green Stewards" we not only advocate responsibility to our environment and often work with organisations such as WWF, for beach clean ups activities in the mangroves. It is good that you witness the uncensored version of what goes on and glad you took effort in helping to remove some thrash from our oceans.

We appreciate you making us aware of your experience and our team has taken in this feedback and updated our workflow to ensure that this won’t happen again. 

We have reached out to you separately for the service recovery.

Asian Detours Team

Adventures by Asian Detours 09 Nov 2022

Thank you so much for the kind review and we are glad that you have enjoyed the experience as much as we did too.

Adventures by Asian Detours 09 Nov 2022

Thank you so much for the kind review and we are glad that you have enjoyed the experience as much as we did too.

Adventures by Asian Detours 09 Nov 2022

Cancellation & Rescheduling

Cancellation & Rescheduling

Cancellation Policy
Cancel for free 14 days before your trip starts. Cancellations after such date will not be eligible for refunds as Adventures by Asian Detours would have paid for your trip’s logistics already.
Extenuating Circumstances Policy

In the event that one or more participants are tested positive (or suspected) for Covid-19, they are required to present a verification from MOH no more than 48 hours prior to the trip, customers can choose to reschedule the trip with no additional charge.

If it's less than 48 hours before the activity date, customers can choose to reschedule the trip with a fee of S$50

In the Event of a Government Lockdown
If there is a government lockdown that prevent you from going on your trip, you may get a full refund via Seek Sophie credits or reschedule at no additional costs. Otherwise, we would do our best to help you reschedule in other cases. Read our full policy here.

Other Policies

Other Policies

Covid Safety Guidelines

This activity allows for a maximum of 30 pax with subgroups that do not exceed 10 pax.
Vaccination or pre-event testing are not required.

Child Pricing
Children (age 0 - 12) will pay a discounted price
Please click on the booking form to see child prices

Helpful Questions from Our Community

What should I pack?
Cash
Change of clothes
Comfortable clothes and covered shoes (No open-toed shoes or flip flops)
Drinking water bottle
Insect repellent
Sunscreen/sunglasses
Hi do you have kayak for 3 people or 1 person?
No Reply Yet.
Hi, what happens in the event of wet weather? What if we can't find the start location to meet the guide?
Hi Kelvin. The programme operates in both dry and wet weather. And Meeting point located at 34 Pulau Ubin, the meeting point is a short 1 min walk from the jetty. Upon arriving via the ferry, cross the boardwalk and take a left. Walk on until a house painted white on your right. If you can't find it, you can contact the supplier's phone number that is mentioned in your booking confirmation.
Do we need a kayaking certificate to do this?
Hi Kim! No need kayaking certificate to join! (:
hi can i check i read and it says that we will get wet during the tour. Is it a very intense tour?
No Reply Yet.
Loading results...

No Results Based On Your Search

Your question would also be very useful to the rest of the travel community!
Not what you are looking for? Ask us anything, your question would be very useful to the rest of the travel community!
From S$ 83.89 / person
Request to Book